News from the Board

28 August 2018

Kia Ora Koutou,

Here’s a quick update from your Board of Trustees

Bottom Block Refurbishment Update:

Although initially penciled in for Term 3, our Bottom block refurbishment has been delayed due to various compliance issues. We are happy to report that things are progressing and we hope to have multiple tenders for the work very soon.

As an added bonus, we are very grateful to have been granted funds from Pelorus Trust and Trust House for two cookware sets, two induction ovens and two rangehoods, which will be used for food technology learning in this new space.

We’ll keep you updated on progress.

Creating a Health and Safety Culture at HHS:

Health and Safety is a priority for the Board of Trustees, to ensure that our tamariki, staff and visitors are all looked after, physically, mentally and emotionally. We are beginning to see the culture of Health and Safety growing and we encourage students and whanau to take an active role in helping build a culture where we’re all keeping each other safe at school. If you see anything that you think needs to be brought to the school’s attention with regards to health and safety, please do not hesitate to mention it to school leadership or a Board member. If we’re all playing an active role in this, we’re all doing our part in keeping each other safe and well.

Pasifika Whanau and Te Aka Whanau groups:

The establishment of our new Pasifika group has been a wonderful addition to the work we have been doing with our already established Māori reference group, now known as Te Aka Whānau. Both the Pasifika and Te Aka Whānau groups have given us wonderful insight and ideas on how we can improve our school to ensure that our Māori and Pasifika children (and subsequently, ALL of our children) can improve their academic and social success at school. We’re continuing to work on creating more groups that can help us in the way we shape our school and would love to have you involved if you would like to contribute. Watch this space for more updates.

Finally, a big thanks from the Board to everyone for cooperating with the school closure during the recent stop-work day. We understand that this might have been an inconvenience for you, and we’re grateful to you all for making alternative arrangements on that day.

Next Board meeting: Monday 26th November, 5:30pm in the staff room.  All welcome.

Stephen Opie
Board Chair

BOT

BOT – Email Addresses

Kelly Barker – kelly.barker@hamptonhill.school.nz

Abbey Corich – abbey.corich@hamptonhill.school.nz
Sophie Robbers – sophie.robbers@hamptonhill.school.nz
Stephen Opie – stephen.opie@hamptonhill.school.nz
Craig Scott-Hill – craig.scotthill@hamptonhill.school.nz
Suzanne Biddington – suzanne.biddington@hamptonhill.school.nz
Julia Paterson-Fourie – julia.paterson-fourie@hamptonhill.school.nz

Here you can read and download the Agenda for our next Board of Trustees meeting on Monday 26 November 2018 at 5.30pm – please note this agenda will be available one week prior to the meeting and will be subject to change.

Here you can read and download the Minutes taken at our Board of Trustees meetings – just click on any of the buttons.  Archived copies of the Minutes are kept in the office.